donderdag 9 april 2015


Around 1975 I became acquainted with the work of artist/poet Chris J van Geel. His direct style – both drawings and poetry – made a big impression on me. Forty years later its time for a small tribute to a great poet: 'GEEL'. Dutch poet Elly de Waard, who has lived with Chris van Geel for 12 years until his death in 1974, reads his poem 'Uitzicht'.

Mastered by Theo Calis.

donderdag 12 maart 2015

Nacht (Night)

Written and performed by:
Sten Erland Hermundstad ( piano
Theo Calis: sounds, sound design, additional mixing, mastering
Victor Yibril ( sounds, electronics
Ed van den Brekel ( trumpet
Martin Hoogeboom ( objects, sounds, assemblage, concept

Artwork by Amanda Blake ( “They would find answers in the night“.

Many thanks to Sten Erland, Victor, Theo, Ed and Amanda for their enthusiasm and creative generosity. I'm also greatly indebted to these amazing sound recordist through ( eksaa, Ian Mallyon (ianoboe), tomble93, metzik, ecfike, inchadney, klankbeeld. Special thanks to Theo Calis for his unfailing commitment and help, to Rune and Øystein for creating and maintaining Petroglyph Music as platform for new and independent music.

Petroglyph Music release March 11, 2015

vrijdag 20 februari 2015

'Hanendans': a Stoomkamer project

Stoomkamer is a new Martin Hoogeboom project entirely dedicated to free improvised music. It consists of several Bandcamp EPs made in collaboration with musicians from around the world. If you would like to stay informed about new releases please subscribe to the Martin Hoogeboom newsletter. I’m very proud to present the first 2015 Stoomkamer release: Mimlitsch/Matthies/Hoogeboom ‘Hanendans’